Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review

11235712[1]Goodreads Review: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Update 6/27: This book is also available in audiobook. Your local library might also have it. And if you’ve never tried out audiobook before, now is the time! If you have, you should still check this out 😉

Here is a clip from Cinder, provided by Macmillan Audio: Cinder Audiobook

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars!

My Thoughts:

In the beginning I really thought I would hate this book because I’m not very fond of books about robots or living electronic machines, but it surprised me and I ended up loving it. Every time I put the book down I would get overwhelmed and pick it back up. I don’t think I got bored at all, though at the beginning it is a little hard to catch on to what the characters are talking about. But it doesn’t take long for you to figure out how they mentally group people.

This book takes place in New Beijing near Europe. Now, in a lot of books I don’t go too far into the accuracy of the geography because most books I read take place in America, but this book seemed fairly accurate. And not just with the geography, it’s accurate about the government, too. (If you overlook the countries working together and the Lunar people)

I also liked how they made it a Cinderella tale, sort of.. I could pinpoint the key paragraphs that follow Cinderella. The book has a twist to it! I was predicting things left and right and at certain parts I was just like ” OMG OMG OMG!” or *sucks in breath* That did NOT just happen?!?! :O So in the end, the book is very predictable but you don’t know you’re right until you change your prediction

There were two things I did not like about the book. First, I didn’t like the fact that the family was soo damn mean! And I know the author meant for it to be that way but I’m so kind-hearted I just flinch and get super sad when I witness bulling or people not being treated equal. So I guess that really doesn’t count. Second, the cover shows a picture of a leg and red heels, and you can barely see the robotic part. I would guess that it’s Cinder, right?? But in the book she isn’t wearing red heels like that and her leg is completely robotic. The leg on the cover looks like it had skin-grafting. And it clearly states that Cinder’s leg is silver. Maybe I’m just looking too much into it…

FREAKIN’ CLIFFHANGERS!!! At the end of the book I was like…

tumblr_loyingBzZg1qle72zo1_500[1]

And because I got Cinder from the library, right after I was done I went to request Scarlet from the library. Knowing that I had only been there days before and had SEEN Scarlet on the shelf, I knew I would be the first one in line to request it.

photo 1

tumblr_momgdohyXW1s72clfo1_250[1]

tumblr_inline_moenanBmHQ1qz4rgp[1]

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizzy's Dark Fiction
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 04:58:27

    on my library’s shelf*

    Reply

  2. Lizzy's Dark Fiction
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 04:58:13

    I’ve had no luck finding Scarlet on my shelf either. It’s always there when I don’t want to read it and then missing when I do. Same with the Matched Trilogy by Alie Condie.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 10 & 11 | Jany's Book Blog

Leave a comment

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)