Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ocler Review

5231173[1]Goodreads Review:

“Don’t worry, Anna. I’ll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it.”
“Okay.”
“Promise me? Promise you won’t say anything?”
“Don’t worry.” I laughed. “It’s our secret, right?”

According to Anna’s best friend, Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy every day, there’s a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there’s something she hasn’t told Frankie–she’s already had her romance, and it was with Frankie’s older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts:

I don’t even know what to say…
Once I was finished with the book I was speechless. I had to let it all sink in for a few minutes. My sister is the one who usually reads these type of books.. Sarah Ockler, Sarah Dessen, and Susan Colosanti. Usually the books she reads I think are kind of slow but I have a short attention span  this one kept me interested. It was very suspenseful and heartfelt. I thought it was sad but I think most things are sad. Anyways, I think the author could have enhanced the story more at the end and made it a tad bit more interesting through out the middle, that’s why I didn’t rate it a full 5 stars. Other than that, it was a pretty good book and I would recommend it if you want a  quick summer read. Although, I was disappointed it wasn’t as magical as I had excepted.

Spoilers:

I was mad that Anna wasn’t speaking about what was on her mind to anybody. She kept quiet because she thought that it wasn’t right since she was just the ‘best friend’. Even if she was just the best friend I think she has the right to grief and cry just as much as Frankie and her family does.

I also hated Frankie for throwing Anna’s diary into the ocean. I mean I get that she is an emotional wreck that has a dead brother but really??? Did you have to throw the poor girls book into the freakin ocean?! How would you like it if somebody threw your camera into the ocean?! God.

I knew that Anna would find a red piece of glass! I knew she would. That made me so happy, but it all vanished when she threw it out into the ocean. I was just like “WTF??? Are you crazy?” Even when she explained it. I really think she should’ve kept it. Which leads me to the necklace. Somehow I knew that she was going to end up with Matt’s blue glass necklace at the end of the book. I didn’t know Frankie was going to give it to her but I knew it was going to get into her possession. I thought she was just going to find it on her bed or while she was walking somewhere.

 

 

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

