Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

4Goodreads Description: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

My Review: 

This book… Oh my god..

It is just so emotional..
I guess I have to start this off somehow. I’ll start with the topic. I’ve struggled greatly with depression in the past and have thought about suicide daily. So reading these tapes…what Hannah is going through, I can really connect to.

That being said, this is a very unique book. The way it was written. It goes back and forth instantly between Hannah and Clay. I usually see the characters switching off by chapter, if there is more than one pov. I think that this worked out for the best partly because Hannah’s dialog was predetermined. Nonetheless, it was a very interesting format to read.

The only reason I didn’t give this amazing book 5 out of 5 Stars is because some of the events that happened in this book seemed a little far fetched for a 16 year old girl. Other than that, this book was perfect. Spot on. Hannah’s emotions felt real. And I’d think it wouldn’t even be possible, but Clay’s emotions were even more real.

I like that the author made the..well..living main character a boy because then he (the author) could relate more. It just doesn’t work out most of the time when a guy author tries to write in just a girl’s perspective. Only because boys and girls are so different. The way they think, the way they act in certain situations, and obviously physically. But I have to say, he also wrote Hannah’s perspective very well, too.

In the end, it was a well written book with great and unique formatting. It’s well-paced and did not disappoint.

So that’s all folks! Have a great day, chéries!

 

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

