Review: The Boys of Summer (Summer #1)

13562232[1]Goodreads Description: It seemed only natural to nickname them the ‘Onslow Boys’. Every time they swaggered in the front door of the Onslow Hotel after a hard week’s work, their laughter was loud and genuine as they settled onto their bar stools. I peeked through the restaurant partition, a flimsy divider between my world and theirs. I couldn’t help but smile whenever I saw them, saw him … Toby Morrison.

Quiet seventeen-year-old Tess doesn’t relish the thought of a summertime job. She wants nothing more than to forget the past haunts of high school and have fun with her best friends before the dreaded Year Twelve begins.

To Tess, summer is when everything happens: riding bikes down to the lake, watching the fireworks at the Onslow Show and water bomb fights at the sweltering Sunday markets.

How did she let her friends talk her into working?

After first-shift disasters, rude, wealthy tourists and a taunting ex-boyfriend, Tess is convinced nothing good can come of working her summer away. However, Tess finds unlikely allies in a group of locals dubbed ‘The Onslow Boys’, who are old enough to drive cars, drink beer and not worry about curfews. Tess’s summer of working expands her world with a series of first times with new friends, forbidden love and heartbreaking chaos.

All with the one boy she has never been able to forget.

It will be a summer she will always remember.

Warning: sexual references, and occasional coarse language

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I waited a little too long to write this review.. So most of the things I was going to originally say, I forgot. This will definitely be a short review, though!

To start off, I felt like C.J. Duggan did great at achieving the relationship between Tess and Ellie. I can say their friendship was fully developed, above and beyond great. And even with Tess and Adam! I loved the fact that I could read a relationship of a boy/girl, that isn’t lovey-dovey. So, I am awed at Adam and Tess. Now I feel like both Adam and Tess were always just looking the other way at Ellie’s actions, and that wasn’t really ok with me. That led me to think that Ellie’s character development was a little iffy.

I could relate with Tess about her little crush (since in middle school I was a total stalker). But the whole romance in the story was just..well it was just another romance. It felt like just another romance book when it came to Toby and Tess. I wasn’t bored with it! I just wasn’t intrigued, and that is the reason I give the book 4 stars instead of 5. But don’t get me wrong, there where a lot of parts in Tess’s romance that made my heart melt.

Besides the romance, the book was great! I was always interested at what would happen next. The Onslow Boys were the best! I was laughing endlessly at their silliness! Also, a couple of jaw dropping things happened after the half point in the book. And I’m glad that I got the chance to ride with Tess and Ellie through their life-changing summer. Therefore, it is so worth it to keep reading! And I even want to read the next book! Which I’m doing right now. ^_^

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

