Top Tens Tuesday (#1): Top ten books I was ‘forced’ to read

This is yet another meme I’m going to be doing, right along with Teaser Tuesdays. I don’t know if two memes is ok.. I’d like to think that 3 post a day should be just right for a blogger. Anyways, I hope you like it!

So Top Tens Tuesdays is run by The Broke and the Bookish

This week is Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read (either by teachers, friends, other bloggers, book club) — doesn’t necessarily have to be a BAD thing. Could be required reading, yes, but also book club, or just super enthusiastic friends “making” you read something!

There was two books from what I remember, that I was being “forced” to read. One of them was Night by Elie Wiesel. It was part of the English curriculum in 9th grade. I ended up loving the book. It was filled with so much emotion, and that got me into a big interest in the Jewish holocaust. 1617[1]

Book Description: Night A terrifying account  of the Nazi death camp horror that turns a young  Jewish boy into an agonized witness to the death of  his family…the death of his innocence…and the  death of his God. Penetrating and powerful, as  personal as The Diary Of Anne  Frank, Night awakens the shocking  memory of evil at its absolute and carries with it  the unforgettable message that this horror must  never be allowed to happen again.

Another book was Marked (House of Night #1) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast. This book was strongly recommended to me back in elementary school. My neighbor read the book and we walked from school together. This is how I got into the series, and ever since then I’ve loved it. Although, I haven’t read two of the latest books in the series. It’s just been so long that I’ve read them that I’d need to go back and reread the whole series..

30183[1]Book Description: The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird’s world, vampyres have always existed.  In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire — that is, if she makes it through the Change.  Not all of those who are chosen do.  It’s tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling.  She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx.  But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers.  When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny–with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

If you want to add either of the books to goodreads, all you have to do is click the cover! Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

