The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder Review

10710505[1]Goodreads Description: Dry, sarcastic, sixteen-year-old Cam Cooper has spent the last seven years in and out hospitals. The last thing she wants to do in the short life she has left is move 1,500 miles away to Promise, Maine – a place known for the miraculous events that occur there. But it’s undeniable that strange things happen in Promise: everlasting sunsets; purple dandelions; flamingoes in the frigid Atlantic; an elusive boy named Asher; and finally, a mysterious envelope containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies. As Cam checks each item off the list, she finally learns to believe – in love, in herself, and even in miracles.

A debut novel from an immensely talented new writer, The Probability of Miracles crackles with wit, romance and humor and will leave readers laughing and crying with each turn of the page.

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts:
This book had me emotional. At the beginning of the book I could disconnect myself from it but near the end it was impossible NOT to feel the twist of emotions slurring inside.
I like the cover, the fact that the girl in the cover looks kind of similar to Cam is a miracle in itself. And the feather is symbolic until halfway though the book. Only because Tweety sort of got replaced by other animals. And the book is pink, not necessarily flamingo pink, but still pink.
I don’t usually read these type of books. I mainly stick to paranormal and sci-fi/fantasy books because they are almost always more entertaining to read. But this book held my attention. Though the first half of the book was a bit boring.
I could connect to Cam and how she thought. I couldn’t really connect to Asher, though. I think Cam and Asher’s relationship should’ve been more developed. They weren’t really together in public much. It isn’t very realistic since he’s supposed to be this demi-god that the girls worship in their town, yet when they were together she wasn’t getting dirty looks or anything.

Spoilers:
Cam is sort of like me. There’s a whole paragraph that talks about her always being right. Plus she thinks that everything happens for a reason, scientifically.
“The so-called ‘near-death experience’ is a neurological event. A big dream set off by massive amounts of hormones released by the pituitary gland. It’s all caused by dimethyltryptamine. Not God.”

And also I like how Cam thinks about religion. Like the paragraph talking about how Cam thought Virgin Mary was bogus..
Cam did not believe any leaf could cure her, of coarse. She didn’t even believe the Virgin was a virgin. She imagined Mary after getting knocked up, powwowing with her girlfriends, gathering round the well, trying to figure out what to do.
“I know,” one of them said. “Tell them that God did it.”
“Perfect,” Mar’s girls chimed in.
And then the publicity of the thing must have just gotten way out of hand.

I think that the reader is supposed to get a fuzzy, new book boyfriend type vibe from Asher, like that was supposed to be Cams true love. But I just felt like he was using her, like what the dude did to Lily. It didn’t seem like Asher’s past relationship was over. So when Cam died it didn’t feel like she got the best out of life.

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

