The Raft by S.A. Bodeen Review

12987986[1]Goodreads Description:

Robie is an experienced traveler. She’s taken the flight from Honolulu to the Midway Atoll, a group of Pacific islands where her parents live, many times. When she has to get to Midway in a hurry after a visit with her aunt in Hawaii, she gets on the next cargo flight at the last minute. She knows the pilot, but on this flight, there’s a new co-pilot named Max. All systems are go until a storm hits during the flight. The only passenger, Robie doesn’t panic until the engine suddenly cuts out and Max shouts at her to put on a life jacket. They are over miles of Pacific Ocean. She sees Max struggle with a raft.

And then . . . she’s in the water. Fighting for her life. Max pulls her onto the raft, and that’s when the real terror begins. They have no water. Their only food is a bag of Skittles. There are sharks. There is an island. But there’s no sign of help on the way.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts:  At first I thought that this book wasn’t going to develop very well because what could possibly happen in a raft in the middle of the ocean? But prepare to be amazing!
The beginning was kind of slow, and when it ended it left things unsaid. There was an unexpected twist towards about 75% through the book, though. I seriously didn’t see it coming, I was a little suspicious with some of the things happening but I can’t really say because it would give away the twist..
You guys just have to trust me!
The book succeeded at distracting me from boredom and there were a lot of interesting facts about the oceanic creatures. And just the fact that I want to be a marine biologist makes the book even more interesting. It also mentions ramen noodles and Starbucks sooo I couldn’t help but love it. That’s why I gave it 4 Stars.
I do have to say that  the cover is inaccurate. And this really irks me. On the cover, it shows Robie laying on the raft with her hair all spread out. Throughout almost the whole book her hair was in cornrows, only towards the end did someone take out the cornrows. You guys have no idea, it makes me mad..
It’s a very fun, quick read!

 

Why I’m convinced Robie is my identical twin.

  • She eats ramen noodles
  • She drinks Starbuck ( and not only does she just drink Starbucks, she gets the vanilla bean frappuccino . Which is what I ALWAYS get)
  • She watches Netflix
  • She got a henna tattoo!! I loveeee henna! Plus, it was of a green sea turtle, which I happen to love also!
  • She got her nose pierced. Which I’ve been bugging my parents to do since forever!

Yeah. Robie is my twin sister.

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

