Variant by Robison Wells Review

10433900[2]Goodreads Description:

Benson Fisher thought that a scholarship to Maxfield Academy would be the ticket out of his dead-end life.

He was wrong.

Now he’s trapped in a school that’s surrounded by a razor-wire fence. A school where video cameras monitor his every move. Where there are no adults. Where the kids have split into groups in order to survive.

Where breaking the rules equals death.

But when Benson stumbles upon the school’s real secret, he realizes that playing by the rules could spell a fate worse than death, and that escape—his only real hope for survival—may be impossible

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts:

First I have to say that this book reminded me a lot of Tower Prep. A tv show on Cartoon Network that was only on air for about one season and got cut off because there wasn’t enough viewers. (Personally, I loved the show to death. Ian Archer will always have a place in my heart.)

But oh my freakin gosh! I’m speechless. So many emotions are zooming through my mind right now. Am I mad? Sad? Happy? Actually, I can definitely say that I am confused! Right at this moment I’m logging onto my library account to put the second book on hold. Due to the unfortunate fact that the author decided to make the end of the book a cliffhanger, just to taunt the reader. Now I have to get the second one pronto!

blog 3[1]

Afterward my sister actually asked if I was high. I was like..maaaybe

The author did a very good job at leaving the reader wondering what is going to happen next. And the book wasn’t as predictable as I thought it was going to be! Even in the middle of the book my predictions were somewhat wrong. Though the very beginning of the book you knew something was sketchy. And I mean the first few sentences..

I also liked that the book was well described. Wells described everything perfectly, I could imagine the setting in my head and everyone moving around when the book said. The narration was pretty good, too. Whatever Benson knew, so did I. Whatever he didn’t know, I didn’t either. Until of coarse he found out.
I also have to say that I am a sucker for an underdog. Benson isn’t very admirable but I would’ve instantly followed him wherever just because of the attitude he holds.

Spoilers:

Ok so when the school was trying to bribe Benson into keeping their secret by giving him 5 million points…I was mad because I would’ve told the cameras to give me more! Or I’d tell them to let me go and not mention anything about me. Or just explain to me what the hell is going on.

That’s it for today folks! Comment if you have anything you’d like to recommend me. Or if you watch a tv show similar to this!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. books for a delicate eternity
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 10:50:23

    Ah, this book looks so good! Yet another book added to the ever-growing TBR D:
    Love the Supernatural gif, by the way. I love those boys ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

