A Beautiful Dark by Jocylen Davies Review

10429025[2]Goodreads Description: On the night of Skye’s seventeenth birthday, she meets two enigmatic strangers. Complete opposites—like fire and ice—Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair and aloof. Their sudden appearance sends Skye’s life into a tailspin. She has no idea what they want, or why they seem to follow her every move—only that their presence coincides with a flurry of strange events. Soon she begins to doubt not just the identity of the two boys, but also the truth about her own past.

In the dead of a bitingly cold Colorado winter, Skye finds herself coming to terms with the impossible secret that threatens to shatter her world. Torn between Asher, who she can’t help falling for, and Devin, who she can’t stay away from, the consequences of Skye’s choice will reach further than the three of them could ever imagine.

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts:

This book was nothing like I expected. When I picked it up I thought “Oh, another cliché book about vampires and angels” but I gave it a chance anyway and what I found was a unique book that stands out from all the other YA paranormal type books. I cant really explain how this book stands out from all the others. I think how Jocelyn decided to write it, how we don’t really know what’s wrong with her, or what she is. In fact we don’t even know what Asher and Devin are until about one-third of the way through the book. Which I think is great! It was the perfect place to clear everything up. And the pace was awesome, it left you thinking about what could possibly happen next.
I was disappointed at how little we saw Ian in the book. But I loved the fact that for a while it was a love ‘square’. Skye had three guys after her at one point. And that is one of the reasons the book stands out. Most books have love triangles and major suspense. This one had a love square, which brings up even more tension. And it takes guts to do something like that when you’re writing. You have to know the boundaries. What would be too much? Or am I not writing enough? Too much is Skye being chased by a bunch of guys and the cliché is two guys.
I will definitely read the next book to this series called A Fractured Light.

Extras:

I have to say that I thought the name of the coffee place was weird. Love the Bean?? Haha but it caught on throughout the book! I also have a weird infatuation of reading books that take place in Colorado. Maybe because I live in Colorado, so it’s more special than anywhere else.

I felt like I understood what Skye was going through. I mean not with everything changing around her but with her always feeling lonely and not being able to talk to anyone about what’s going on. Even though I live in a family with 6 kids, I don’t have anyone to really talk to about my problems. Because of all the kids, I get no attention at all and in order to get attention you have to scream out what you want. Which I’m not the best at doing.

 

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

