Dark Child:Omnibus Edition by Adina West Review

17936753[1]Goodreads Desciption: This intriguing urban fantasy follows the story of Kat Chanter, who discovers that the world she knows is controlled by ancient creatures who feed on blood. And she might just be one of them …

Lately things have been getting weird for pathology technician Kat Chanter. She’s been craving raw meat, and having dreams so realistic they’re scary. When she accepts a job offer from the prestigious Hema Castus Research Institute, she hopes she’ll have the chance to discover what’s wrong with her, but instead, her move to New York thrusts her headlong into a treacherous hidden world, where the wrong move could be fatal . . .

Tarot, witchcraft and astrology all take on a frightening resonance in Dark Child’s richly imagined alternative reality where vampiric beings live among us, hidden by magic. Dark romance tangles with paranormal fantasy and page-turning suspense in this enthralling tale of ‘dark child’ Kat Chanter, half-human and half-vampire, who has woken an ancient prophecy and must face a formidable destiny.

My Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts: It was an ok book. I loved the plot behind it, the whole idea of who or should I say what the main character is, caught my attention. The pace of the book was very slow, too slow. It just didn’t really hook me until I was 75%  done with the book. I didn’t know what was going on until the near end when they explained it. And to top it off, the beginning and middle was very bland. I had to force myself to keep reading. The antagonist wasn’t as evil as I thought and also didn’t appear until the middle of the book. All in all, it was ok, and I can’t help feeling that there was a book before this, that explained everything clearly..

And anyone who is reading or want’s to read A Tale of Two Cities. BE WARNED!! They give away the ending in this book. I learned that the hard way…in which I am currently reading that book.

Spoilers:

Here are all of the reasons I didn’t like Kat:

  • I thought she was stupid. Just the simple fact that she wouldn’t believe evidence that is right in front of her. The psychic gave her the Arcana and she still wouldn’t believe it, she kept telling herself it was a coincidence.
  • Plus:  “Though the psychic hadn’t exactly predicted the cab ride from hell, so her reliability was looking a little questionable” 

This. This pissed me off, I swore the psychic wasn’t reliable a minute ago. Now it’s ‘questionable’??

  • Also: People came up with crazy theories for things every day of the week, and it didn’t make them true.

She’s talking about how her being a ‘dark child’ isn’t true because the psychic is making it up. And I’m just thinking  to myself…This girl is so stupid! The freakin’ book was made in the early 1900’s. -_- ugh

  • The fact that she forgave the dickhead known as Jonathan for draining her. I would’ve killed him for almost killing me!! I would’ve gone ballistic in front of him, and ended up crying and then harshly whisper that I will NEVER forgive him.

Also, I was really surprised when things got intimate with Alek and Kat, I really thought Kat was smarter than that. But of course the girls always go for the jerks and players.

I really thought sparks were going to fly when Amarok talks to her. Instead he gets friend zoned! Need I replay this scene?

“you’re the closest thing I have to a best friend, wolf-man.”

Now lets have a moment of silence to honor our brother Amarok in the friend zone:

friend_zoned[1]  m221098995[1]

tumblr_lz8b063QfC1ro9i7ao3_400[1]

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

