Chasing Mercy by Stacy Claflin Review

17929414[1]Goodreads Description: The summer after graduation should have been the most exciting time of Mercy’s life.

Instead, on the way to an exciting overseas trip, she barely survives an accident that kills the rest of her family. As soon as she’s released from the hospital, a creepy hooded figure with black skinny jeans begins to chase her.

At home, Mercy experiences other ghostly encounters. Kit, her neighbor who happens to run a paranormal blog, thinks that her brush with death has made her more sensitive to life on the other side. She discovers that the creepy hooded figure is holding her dad’s ghost captive so she enlists the help of Kit to rescue her dad from the ghost who’s chasing her.

Buy the book on Amazon! 

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts: This was a quick read. It was very interesting. I liked how the author dove right into the plot instead of waiting a couple chapters for things to get good. I loved Mercy and Kit’s relationship throughout the whole book. The fact that the author kept me on edge through it is one reason why I’m giving this 5 stars. Another reason is a shocking ending. I can most of the time predict an ending to a book I read but this one I couldn’t and it caught me off guard. I can’t wait for the second book!!

I noticed that both Kit and Mercy fold their arms a lot throughout the book. Not that I was annoyed or anything, I also wasn’t happy about it though. I’m just saying…nonchalantly.

Spoilers:

Right after Mercy kissed Kit I was like awwwwww! Then when he said he was gay..I was uninterested in the rest of the book. But then I thought about it and I knew he couldn’t be gay. I didn’t believe him because the kiss was indeed intimate.

Then when she stated that she didn’t care: I was entering dangerous territory, and I knew it, but I couldn’t help it. Kit had to be the most wonderful guy alive. Gay or not. I knew that it was true love, not even caring if he was gay.

And then the part where she planned on trying to swoon him anyway because she didn’t believe he was gay, either. She wears her hair down and flips it every other minute 😛 who does that?? It’s like she has muscle spasms in her neck.

“”So what’s in there? Old saws and stuff?” I asked, batting my eyelashes. Hahahahahahaha who does that? She sucks at flirting, big time.

And then the end… Sigh. I definitely did not see this coming. I was so sad! My heart dropped into my stomach. And he found out right after he told her he loved her!!!!!! Why Stacy, why?! In my head, I went ballistic. I was sad for Mercy and I was sad for Kit.

But of course Mercy won’t go with the reaper to join her family yet.. She has unfinished business with Kit. But then again, the Reaper was a handsome young man, and who can say no to that? I would take the hot boys hand and follow him anywhere. (:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 10 & 11 | Jany's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

