Armchair BEA Day 4- Ethics and Nonfiction

I think ethics is very important to look at. Understanding blogging rules and whatnot. From what I believe there isn’t rules set straight out on a piece of paper or website for every single blogger to look at and follow. I think there should be but there isn’t. I guess copyright is common sense, don’t copy other people’s work and claim it as yours. And if you do post other people’s work on your blog, state who’s work you posted. I think that’s a simple rule to follow, but I have heard of some people who have gotten in trouble for not stating who’s work it was. So that follows along the lines of  :

  1. Be honest
  2. Don’t be a jerk – I mean what’s the point of USING ALL CAPS AND EXCLAIMATION MARKS!!!? You could just talk about an issue peacefully and if you don’t agree then agree to disagree. I mean you don’t have to go around cussing at everyone through the internet.
  3. No one is above anyone – just because you think your blog looks cool doesn’t make you better than the person you think has a boring looking blog. We all have our own opinions. And just because so and so has a thousand followers and you have less doesn’t make them better. There are reasons behind it. Isn’t there a law stating that every human is equal? I think that applies to blogging, too.

Three simple rules. I think it’s easy to follow. I’ve also pledged to Blog With Integrity. It’s a list of simple guidelines to follow, much like these but a little more detailed.

As for Non-fiction I enjoy reading books about the Jewish holocaust and some biographies. A really good book is Night by Elie Wiesel. I loved it and I felt like I was living his life during the holocaust. I had to do a project in my English class a couple years ago about this book and it made me think about it more. I also liked The Dairy of A Young Girl by Anne Frank. But other than documentaries.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. West Virginia Red (@wvredreads)
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 19:04:31

    I love simple rules. And really these cover life as well. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 11:24:05

    Be honest and don’t be a jerk. That’s about it isn’t it? 🙂

    I love nonfiction and I very much liked the two titles that you’ve listed. If you haven’t read the graphic novel Maus I think you’d really like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

