Armchair BEA Day 2- Blogger Development and Genre Fiction

Day Two of Armchair BEA!! I’m enjoying it (:

Today’s topic is blogger development. I think what I need to work on is working to get more pageviews. To do that maybe I need to participate more in daily blogging activities. Like more blog tours and giveaways. I believe I’m going to have a few coming up in the next couple of months but I am so impatient. It sort of frustrates me that it takes time to get your blog out there. I’m sure other fellow bloggers feel the same way. With that said, I am totally open to suggestions and ideas (:

Have you branched out into your community?

Sadly, I have not. And maybe that’s what I’m doing wrong. I used to participate in this Young Adult group at my local library. But since I’ve moved I haven’t really been “out there”.

Do you partner with other bloggers?

I have before, but it didn’t really go well because we were both somewhat new to the blogosphere. We didn’t have connections and we didn’t really know what to do. Ohhh newbies! But I still enjoyed it, whether it failed or not. Plus it’s more experience so now I know what and what not to do next time.

Have you gone “pro” or tried generating some income through your blog?

Hmmm.. I have no idea how to respond to this. I lost my train of thought and now I don’t really understand anything I’m reading. Haha I blame it on my fluffy Hello Kitty PJ’s. But I will try to answer this question at my best!

Income meaning money…I tried to make an Amazon affiliate thingy but I couldn’t due to Colorado’s government being silly. A few states in the US can’t participate in that because they tried to tax Amazon for something Amazon shouldn’t be taxed for. I could be completely wrong so don’t start throwing tomatoes at me or anything 😛

 

Genre Fiction:

I read just about everything. With an exception of historical fiction and mysteries. I can’t really sit still and read a historical book due to the fact that I always fall asleep in my history class. No offense guys but I think history is boring.  And mysteries…well I don’t really know what happened. I used to love reading things like Nancy Drew and Sherlock Holmes. I think I just kind of matured. I realized that most mysteries aren’t that realistic and at the end of the book the antagonist (mass murderer, psychopath, or whatever) either gets away or dies. And there is always a trail leading to him at which the climax is when the protagonist finds the final key to justice. But I do enjoy reading James Patterson books. I also do not read horror.. Ok I read some horror but I HATE being scared.

I love reading young adult books and right along with them is paranormal and fantasy. I like end of the world type books, dystopian I think? Though I don’t read horror books I do like reading about zombies. I also love, love, love manga and graphic novels. I’m a nerd.. But I am still a girl (: I read romance. I like happy ending and gushy moments, the books where your heart is melting every 10 minutes.

 

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Armchair BEA: Genre-Picture Books to Young Adult | Books in the Burbs
  2. firmfam4
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 04:22:53

    You’re off to a great start! As someone who has been book blogging for almost 5 years (I feel like a dinosaur), it takes time. Being an Armchair BEA Cheerleader is fantastic because commenting on other blogs is a great way to build community and create connections. From there, the partnerships and collaborations begin to happen with other bloggers and even in your real-life community. Giveaways can be hit or miss. Amazon hasn’t been successful for me at all. Be authentic, be yourself, let people see the real you behind the blog and your readership (and pageviews) will grow. 🙂 Melissa

    Reply

  3. Crystal Brunelle (@librarygrl2)
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 02:53:52

    I think it just takes time and connecting with many people. I have been doing this for about a year and a half and don’t have huge numbers, but I am finally settling in. I think as long as you enjoy writing it’s a good thing even if it takes a long time to get a following. I wish you the best!

    Reply

  4. AH@badassbookreviews
    May 31, 2013 @ 12:29:36

    One of the best ways to reach out in the blog community is to join a blog hop or two. You get to meet others who blog in your genre and if you choose the right one, you also get an increase in traffic. Armchair BEA is also a fantastic way to network and meet others who blog.
    AH@Badass Book Reviews

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Armchair BEA, Day 4 – Ethics and NonFiction | Kid Lit Reviews
  6. Charleen
    May 30, 2013 @ 21:16:15

    I hate being scared but I’ve discovered that horror books don’t scare me the way that horror movies do. I love thrillers and I see horror sort of as an extension of that genre (though I’m sure horror fans who don’t like thrillers would want to throw tomatoes at me for saying that).

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Armchair BEA: Book Giveaway! | Books in the Burbs
  8. Laura R
    May 30, 2013 @ 15:58:43

    The first year of blogging is the hardest because you’re still learning what you’re able to support and finding your voice. You’ll get there! The best way to interact is the just jump right in. I love Twitter for it’s easiness. I put my thoughts out there, I send one-offs to people, and sometimes I have a conversation. Easy-peasy. Tattooed Books

    Reply

  9. WordsAndPeace
    May 30, 2013 @ 12:56:29

    yes, giveaways is a great way of attracting readers!
    you know, historical fiction has evolved a lot, and lots of them now keep you on the edge of your seat.
    i’m very bad myself at guessing who did what in mysteries, but I have to say mix of historical fiction and mystery is awesome and not a minute boring. I highly recommend this book: http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/03/11/book-review-dissolution/

    Reply

  10. Laurie C
    May 30, 2013 @ 11:23:16

    I feel the same way about historical fiction, but now that I am quite a bit older, I’m trying to read some occasionally. It’s true, as Jessica says, that it’s not all the same! I’ve just started Cascade, which is set at the time of the flooding of several small Massachusetts towns back in the early 30s to make a reservoir to provide water to Boston residents, and I think it’s going to be really good!

    Reply

  11. Jessica
    May 30, 2013 @ 08:17:11

    It does take time to build your blog. You’ll get there. As for pageviews-I do recommend blog tours, but just don’t do them to get views because sometimes you won’t get them. Be picky about which ones you sign up for.

    Ah see this where I think people get it wrong with historical fiction-it’s not all filled with history facts! You need to find an author that will keep you on feet and not drown you in history. It’s hard, but there are a few authors out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

