Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino Review

17609127[1]Goodreads Description: Mia Kelly is a twenty-five-year-old walking Gap ad who thinks she has life figured out when her father’s sudden death uproots her from slow-paced Ann Arbor to New York City’s bustling East Village. There she discovers her father’s spirit for life and the legacy he left behind with the help of an old café, a few eccentric friends, and one charming musician.

Will Ryan is good-looking, poetic, spontaneous, and on the brink of fame when he meets Mia, his new landlord, muse, and personal heartbreaker.

A story of self-discovery and friendship, Sweet Thing shines light on the power of loving and letting go

My Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars!!

My Thoughts: My heart melted in this book so many times. This was.. I don’t know what word to use to describe the awesomeness of the book, awesome maybe? Haha I was intrigued from the beginning of the book. I immediately fell in love with the book after it mentioned the main character, Mia listened to Damien Rice. I LOVE Damien Rice, one of my favorite songs by him is Cannonball. At that instant, I fell in love with Mia and the book. Then when Mia was naming off the pictures of artist that her dad had up on the wall I was just like “I listen to them!!”. And I have to draw attention to Willie Nelson because I remember a book I read in the past called Lyric River by Mac Griffith, the guys roommate thinks he is God but is an exact look-a-like of Willie Nelson. Anyways, I fell in love with all of the characters in the book, with an exception of Will’s temporary girlfriends and Mia’s snotty boyfriend. This is  now my favorite book, I felt like I could connect to Mia and Will because I love music, too. There are a lot of books that will capture your attention, but not many can hold it there to the very end. And I can honestly say that this book held my undivided attention from beginning to end. Will is officially my new book boyfriend. ❤

I really got into the book.. So here come, Spoilers:

How I felt at the beginning of the book if anyone bothered me

1x09-Storming-the-Castle-Animated-gif-Lindsay-Eyeroll-arrested-development-7915420-300-170[1]

How I felt in the middle of the book

original[1] (2)

How I felt towards the end of the middle (if that makes sense)

original[1] (3)

And then came the part were I wanted to throw a brick at Mia for being stupid. But a water bottle will have to make due.

Justin-Bieber-VS-the-Water-Bottle[1]

But that quickly ended when Mia realized it was her fault. Then I felt like she learned her lesson so Will should forgive her. And when he didn’t come back…

markey_mark_wtf[1]

I was just like Shit Mia, pull yourself together…Will you freakin asshole, get your butt back here so the book can end in a happily ever after!

Then Will decided to pop back into Mia’s life..

lucille-animated-gif-arrested-development-3695222-275-155[1]

I am going to admit that I’m mad at Will for just showing up like nothing happened. I didn’t like that, it made him seem like an ass for leaving her for A YEAR AND A HALF and then just showing up. UGH! AND MIA JUST LETS HIM?!?! That made me just as mad.

And the fact that Jenny automatically took Will’s side on the situation. I get that Mia was a little bitchy but Jenny didn’t have to automatically take Will’s side just because her husband did. I mean Jenny didn’t even try to get Mia’s side of the story…

I also have to add that I like the cover even more. It has meaning to it, reather than it being just a cool cover. The scene in the book was a goot scene to tie the cover to. And the title Sweet Thing. I did think of the song by Van Morrison but I just disregarded it because I knew it wasn’t talking about that. Then it was mentioned in the book and I just smiled.

Last but not least..The end. I loved it, how it tied back to the beginning. It is unusual how Lauren looked like Mia. And where has Will seen her from?? What did she whisper in Will’s ear?!?! We never found out what she whispered in his ear!!!! >_< It’s killing me. It’s going to continue killing me I think..

I think I’m going to go to sleep because I stayed up all night trying to see what would happen in the end of the book. Goodnight lovelies!

I almost forget. I wish for a second book. To continue the story of Mia and Will and their love and their kids and music. Or maybe a completely different novel. But I would like to read another book written by Renee Carlino (:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 10 & 11 | Jany's Book Blog
  2. Trackback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 4 | Jany's Book Blog
  3. Trackback: {Sweet Thing} by Renee Carlino {51¢} | Fifty5Cents book blog
  4. Trackback: Re-launch + Cover Reveal: Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino | Jany's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

