The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard Review

16002027[1]Goodreads Review: A seventeen-year-old London girl flies to Los Angeles for the funeral of her mother Lily, from whom she had been separated in her childhood. After stealing a suitcase of letters, clothes and photographs from her mum’s bedroom at the top of a hotel on Venice Beach, the girl spends her summer travelling around Los Angeles returning love letters and photographs to the men who had known her mother. As she discovers more about Mandy’s past and tries to re-enact her life, she comes to question the foundations of her own personality.

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

My Thoughts: The book wasn’t at all what I expected. I expects the girl to go on a full out adventure. She just stayed in L.A. though. And didn’t really explore everything there while only talking to a few people.
It was an odd book. Not something I would usually read, but I did enjoy the creativity put into it.
The protagonist had a strange way of thinking, she had an awesome imagination, and I enjoyed reading her thoughts.

This is what I wanted to do to the poor girls Dad.

tumblr_inline_mg8b057xSm1r01iho[1]

Now that I’ve got that out of my system.

Spoilers!

I’d never been alone in a strange city before, let alone a strange country. I’d been on camping holidays with friends once or twice, and the occasional weekends away with Daphne and Dad. But I’d never checked into a hotel alone or found my way around a new city by myself.

I’ve done more than this girl and still, if I were in her position I would be scared SHITLESS. (Mind my language) but the things this girl has gone through, throughout the book….I would’ve have had a heart attack and died during the middle.

He was aware that we lived near Thai town.

She said we!! I was starting to thing that she would never grow out of her just thinking she was a guest at his house. I like the fact that her and David are together. I just think Lily’s first husband was a total jerk for telling her not to go back there.

CHAPER 42!!

Yay! She found David! I was sad that he just up and left her, but as I read more it started to make sense. And she got Lily’s book back. Enkido it seems like an interesting book, and I feel like that book symbolizes a lot.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Quirky Title, Wearisome Prose: The Pink Hotel | Orange Pekoe Reviews

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

