Nobody by Jennifer Lynn Barnes Review

13628172[1]I finally finished this darn book. And it wasn’t as bad as I had expected.  Goodreads review: There are people in this world who are Nobody. No one sees them. No one notices them. They live their lives under the radar, forgotten as soon as you turn away.

That’s why they make the perfect assassins.

The Institute finds these people when they’re young and takes them away for training. But an untrained Nobody is a threat to their organization. And threats must be eliminated.

Sixteen-year-old Claire has been invisible her whole life, missed by the Institute’s monitoring. But now they’ve ID’ed her and send seventeen-year-old Nix to remove her. Yet the moment he lays eyes on her, he can’t make the hit. It’s as if Claire and Nix are the only people in the world for each other. And they are—because no one else ever notices them.

My Rating: 4 out of 5

My thoughts: I was going to just drop the book because of how boring it was in the beginning. And it started to annoy me somewhat how Nix kept saying he was nothing. And that was very stupid of me because if I would have read the review for the book then I would have immediately got that he was literally nothing. The middle was good though. When I understood he was really “nothing” I fell head over heals for him. The climax of the book was so fast, though. It wasn’t how I thought it would turn out. But the very last sentence of the book made me want to rip someone’s throat out. I did not like the ending. Other than that it’s a cool book.
The kind of book that makes you wish a boy would make you a bookshelf. I was mentally kicking myself in the butt for not reading the back of the book, though. That give the whole thing away, it was too predictable. I was also mentally kissing myself for not reading the back of the book because I didn’t know what was coming. And I wasn’t told before I read the book that Claire is a Nobody, too.

Spoilers:

She let the real world, ugly and solid and unimportant as it was, come slowly into focus, enough to realize that they weren’t in Kansas anymore.

I couldn’t help it. I actually laughed out loud because I’m such a dork. And I was raised watching The Wizard of Oz. So I can’t help but think of that awesome movie when I hear the words ” I don’t think I’m in Kansas anymore.”

The second they connected, everything changed. The rest of the world faded to gray, it’s sounds to silence. The wind stopped blowing; the leaves froze at the angles to which they’d been pushed. A bee paused just above a flower. Nix looked farther, harder at the rest of the world. Ants on a log. Birds midflight.

OH MY FREAKIN GOSHH! Their love froze time >_< at this part I almost exploded. My insides got all gushy and warm. And I know, you don’t have to tell me. I’m a hopeless romantic; the love at first sight, soul mates, written in the stars type love. That’s what gets me cuckoo for coco puffs.

She closed her eyes. She leaned her head forward against the book. And she sobbed.

He made her cry… Again. It’s bookshelf time Nix. Get your ass to work.

based on the family resemblance between Nix and the children in the picture, Claire was willing to bet that she’d sold his siblings, too.

The fact that the person Nix has been working for all his life has been his mother and he hasn’t known that is BEYOND wrong. She deserves to die, and the fact that she made more kids? She’s messed up in the head. The fact that Nix had siblings was sad. I figured him and Claire would go off and make some little Nix’s and Claire’s of their own. How Claire treats them is very compassionate and sweet. She treats them like a mother so I guess it’s ok.

“You tamed me.”
Something gave inside her chest, and it almost felled her. And just when she thought she might have imagined those words, he repeated them.
“You tamed me, Claire. I love you, just so you know.”

(Hopeless romantic here) Nix was actually listening when Claire was reading the book to him. That’s so flipping adorable!! And for the second time, he told her he loved her. *faints*

Last thing and then I’m done ranting. I promise. So the ending… Why the hell would you end THE WHOLE BOOK with a NULL?!?! I am mentally struggling Barnes right now. Haha…joking. But seriously, that’s the one thing that Nix hates most. And Natalie only saved Claire and Nix because it was in the way of the things she wanted. I was surprised that she didn’t have a temper tantrum because she didn’t get Nix’s siblings to go with her. I seriously did not like the end. But the epilogue was awesome 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alwaysjany
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 19:57:55

    Yes I see c:
    And thank you, I appreciate it. Yours is far more interesting. And the one thing that I WILL keep doing is reading! c:

    Reply

  2. Nobody puts Sarah in the Corner
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 19:28:57

    We just became friends on Goodreads!! =) And you have a wordpress book blog as well… that is the coolest! Your book reviews are fantastic. Keep reading!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 04/22/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

